Sunday 5 July 2015

The AFTRS news and more

We have it now from George Brandis. He has finally pulled his finger out and made some decisions. Here are the highlights:

Mr Neil Peplow has been appointed as the Chief Executive Officer for the Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS). and Mr Michael Loebenstein will continue as the Chief Executive Officer of the National Film and Sound Archive (NFSA) for another three years.

Mr Neil Peplow has been appointed as the new CEO of AFTRS. Mr Peplow is currently chief operating officer of the Met Film School in London and Berlin, and was the director of screen at AFTRS from 2011 to 2014. With his strong skills and experience in screen educational institutions, as well as proven screen production expertise, Mr Peplow will be an invaluable addition to the team at AFTRS.

Ms Ann Browne, current Director Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer of AFTRS, will act in the position of CEO until Mr Peplow starts in his role.

Mr Loebenstein was appointed as CEO of the NFSA in 2011. As CEO, he has raised the profile of the NFSA nationally and internationally, and developed a number of important collaborations. Mr Loebenstein has provided high quality leadership and delivered a wide ranging modernisation and restructure of the institution. His reappointment will ensure that the current renewal of the organisation is seen through to completion. .

I would like to acknowledge the outstanding work of Sandra Levy who completed her eight-year term as CEO of AFTRS in June 2015. Ms Levy oversaw significant developments during her tenure and has left the school in a very strong position, which I am sure will be enhanced by the international experience Mr Peplow brings.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.